Text Size

Primary/Elementary/Secondary Branch

The Primary/Elementary/Secondary Branch has six divisions within the department:


This branch includes responsibility for:

  • early childhood learning programs and services;
  • programs of study for the K-12 schools in English and French;
  • learning resource material;
  • programs for students with special needs;
  • resources to support students with special needs;
  • distance education;
  • assessment and evaluation of programs and services for all aspects of K–12 education;
  • research and statistics;
  • student evaluation and testing;
  • teacher professional development;
  • school development;
  • high school certification;
  • certification of teachers;
  • collective agreements in the education sector


  • program development
  • e-learning programs
  • high school certification
  • teacher certification
  • education statistics


  • Students
  • Teachers
  • Parents
  • Adult learners
  • School districts
  • School boards
  • School councils
  • Post-secondary institutions
  • Other government department and agencies
  • NLTA
  • Researchers
  • General public


Assistant Deputy Minister: Ed Walsh

Department of Education
Telephone: 1-709-729-5720
Fax: 1-709-729-1400

Secretary to Assistant Deputy Minister: Maureen Sexton

Department of Education
Telephone: 1-709-729-5720
Fax: 1-709-729-1400
Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.