Education and Early Childhood Development

High School Graduation Requirements Review

The Department of Education and Early Childhood Development is conducting research to gather stakeholders' opinions on:

  • students' needs with respect to high school graduation;
  • whether or not the current graduation requirements are meeting students' needs; and
  • the purpose and value of the distinction between academic and general status.

If you would rather a paper version of the survey mailed to you, please contact us toll-free at 1-844-678-7599 or email to request one.

In addition to this survey, focus groups are being conducted across the province with parents, students, school staff, and other education stakeholders. The focus group schedule is as follows:

Focus Group Schedule for Students, Parents and Staff

ClarenvilleClarenville High SchoolOctober 1-2
Bay RobertsAscension CollegiateOctober 5
FerrylandBaltimore SchoolOctober 5
Mt. PearlO'Donel High SchoolOctober 6
Corner BrookCorner Brook Regional High SchoolOctober 6-7
St. John's Holy HeartOctober 7
MainlandEcole Ste-AnneOctober 8
Torbay Holy Trinity High SchoolOctober 8
CDLICDLI (Students and Staff)October 9
Grand Falls Exploits Valley HighOctober 13-14
TwillingateJ.M Olds CollegiateOctober 15
St. AnthonyWhite Hills AcademyOctober 19
Happy Valley Goose BayMealy Mountain CollegiateOctober 20-21
Labrador CityMenihek High SchoolOctober 21-22
MarystownMarystown Central High SchoolOctober 22


High School Graduation Requirements Stakeholder Schedule

Newfoundland and Labrador Federation of School CouncilsOctober 19
School Administrators' CouncilOctober 19
Newfoundland and Labrador English School Board TrusteesOctober 20
Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers' AssociationOctober 21
Premier's Youth Advisory CommitteeOctober 21
Post-Secondary InstitutionsOctober 22
CDLI ParentsOctober 22

Adobe® Acrobat® Reader software can be used for viewing PDF documents. Download Acrobat® Reader for free opens in new window.

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.